Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

First Post

Posted by james0235 on December 2, 2007

The title of this blog is taken from the Introit (or Entrance Antiphon) of the First Sunday in Advent in both the Ordinary (Novus Ordo) and Extraordinary Forms (Tridentine Mass) of the Roman Rite. The Introit itself is taken from Psalm 25(24):

Ad te levávi ánimam meam, Deus meus, in te confído, non erubéscam. Neque irrídeant me inimíci mei, étenim univérsi qui te exspéctant non confundéntur.

To you, my God, I lift my soul, I trust in you; let me never come to shame. Do not let my enemies laugh at me. No one who waits for you is ever put to shame. (Official ICEL translation)

To Thee have I lifted up my soul: in Thee, O my God, I put my trust, let me not be ashamed: neither let my enemies laugh at me: for none of them that wait on Thee shall be confounded. (1962 Roman Catholic Daily Missal)

It seemed an appropriate title considering I am starting this on the 1st Sunday of Advent.

So, what is this blog all about?

I’m not quite sure yet. It will probably evolve with time. I will probably post my thoughts and opinions on things that I find interesting in the Catholic Church and in Christianity in general.

5 Responses to “First Post”

  1. Kristin said

    It looks great! I also really like the title 🙂

  2. james0235 said

    Thank you. When it came to a title I totally blanked out. I couldn’t think of anything. Then, I thought I might as well use something from Mass. And about 30 seconds later I had my title.

  3. […] on November 29, 2009 Approximately 2 years ago, on the 1st Sunday of Advent, I began this blog with a post on explaining the name I had chosen for the […]

  4. Terri said

    Hello James,
    I am interested in using the image from your website for a Life in the Holy Spirit seminar. Please let me know what you need from me. I would like your permission to it. The Holy Spirit image in the midst of fire. Please advise

    Peace be with you always,
    Terri

Leave a Reply

 
