Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

Successes And Mistakes

Posted by james0235 on February 16, 2008

I have spent the past week getting reacquainted with the Liturgy of the Hours. I have prayed both Vespers and Compline nightly with the exception of one night where I fell asleep early. One thing I learned a few years back is that if you ever miss an hour then just let it go. Do not try to make it up. I have found that to be good advice.

Things have been going well. But, that is not to say that they have been going perfectly. I have made a few mistakes along the way. After the Psalm I was praying the Antiphon and then the Glory Be and then the Psalm Prayer. A few days ago I realized that it should be Psalm, Glory Be, Psalm Prayer, and then the Antiphon. On that same day I also realized that I had been skipping the Magnificat. I was praying the Antiphon but somehow I completely forgot about the Magnificat itself.

I have found it very helpful to use an Ordo. I am aware of two sites which each provide one for the U.S. version of the Liturgy of the Hours as contained in Christian Prayer:

http://www.liturgyofthehours.org/todays-pages/christian-prayer
http://www.stfrancisdesales.com/prayer.php

A few minor mistakes. But, I am learning. And overall I think I am doing well. Hopefully, by the time Lent is over, this will have become second nature and I won’t even be able to think of stopping.

One Response to “Successes And Mistakes”

  1. Thanks for pointing to these sites.
    I’m working on developing that part of my site:
    http://www.liturgy.co.nz/ofthehours/resources.html
    So any suggestions like these are much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
