Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

The 7 Deadly Sins

Posted by james0235 on February 26, 2008

Sin creates a proclivity to sin; it engenders vice by repetition of the same acts. This results in perverse inclinations which cloud conscience and corrupt the concrete judgment of good and evil. Thus sin tends to reproduce itself and reinforce itself, but it cannot destroy the moral sense at its root.

(Catechism of the Catholic Church 1865)

Vices can be classified according to the virtues they oppose, or also be linked to the capital sins which Christian experience has distinguished, following St. John Cassian and St. Gregory the Great. They are called “capital” because they engender other sins, other vices. They are pride, avarice, envy, wrath, lust, gluttony, and sloth or acedia.

(Catechism of the Catholic Church 1866)

Image taken from Jessica Hagy’s Indexed

4 Responses to “The 7 Deadly Sins”

  1. timglass said

    I love that card! Did you do that yourself? That’s great!
    If it’s ok, I might borrow it sometime.


  2. james0235 said

    I wish I had created it. I have no idea where I got it from. Apparently I saved it on 2/1/2007 from some website that is long since forgotten. Whenever I figure it out I will give proper credit.


  3. james0235 said

    I found the source of the card. I am positive that this is not where I got it from. But, she is the creator.

  4. timglass said


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: