Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

The Seven Sorrows Of Mary

Posted by james0235 on March 14, 2008

In the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite even though today is Friday in Passion Week (the 5th Week of Lent) the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary are also commemorated. A commemoration means that the Collect, the Secret, and the Postcommunion of the Feast of the Seven Sorrows are said after the same prayers of the day.pieta.jpg

Collect
O God, in whose passion, according to the prophecy of Simeon, the sword of
sorrow did pierce the most sweet soul of the glorious Mary, Virgin and Mother; mercifully grant that we who call to mind with veneration her anguish and suffering, may obtain the blessed fruit of Thy passion through the glorious merits and prayers of all the Saints who have faithfully stood by the cross interceding for us: Who livest and reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost, ever one God, world without end. Amen.

Secret
We offer unto Thee our prayers and oblations, O Lord Jesus Christ, and
humbly beseech Thee that, even as in our prayers we recall the piercing of the most sweet soul of Thy Blessed Mother Mary, so through the merits of Thy death, and the repeated loving intercession of Thy Mother and her holy companions at the foot of the cross, we may share in the reward of the blessed: Who livest and reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost, ever one God world without end. Amen.

Postcommunion
O Lord Jesus Christ, may the sacrifice of which we partook while devoutly recalling the anguish of Thy virgin Mother, win for us from Thy mercy all good and healthful fruit: Who livest and reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost, ever one God world without end. Amen.

The Seven Sorrows themselves are:

The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34-35)
The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-14)
The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Luke 2:43-45)
The Meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross (Luke 23:27)

The Crucifixion (John 19:25-27)
The Taking Down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross (Mark 15:43-46)

Jesus laid in the Tomb (John 19:38-42)

Of the Seven Sorrows only the first one, the Prophecy of Simeon, is specifically mentioned in the prayers of the Mass today.

The Sorrows of Mary can also be seen in the Sequence Stabat Mater which is very commonly used during the Stations of the Cross:

At the Cross her station keeping,7sorrows.jpg
stood the mournful Mother weeping,
close to Jesus to the last.

Through her heart, His sorrow sharing,
all His bitter anguish bearing,
now at length the sword has passed.

O how sad and sore distressed
was that Mother, highly blest,
of the sole-begotten One.

Christ above in torment hangs,
she beneath beholds the pangs
of her dying glorious Son.

Is there one who would not weep,
whelmed in miseries so deep,
Christ’s dear Mother to behold?

By the Cross with thee to stay,
there with thee to weep and pray,
is all I ask of thee to give.

For the sins of His own nation,
She saw Jesus wracked with torment,
All with scourges rent:

She beheld her tender Child,
Saw Him hang in desolation,
Till His spirit forth He sent.

Can the human heart refrain
from partaking in her pain,
in that Mother’s pain untold?

O thou Mother! fount of love!
Touch my spirit from above,
make my heart with thine accord:

Make me feel as thou hast felt;
make my soul to glow and melt
with the love of Christ my Lord.

Holy Mother! pierce me through,
in my heart each wound renew
of my Savior crucified:

Let me share with thee His pain,
who for all my sins was slain,
who for me in torments died.

Let me mingle tears with thee,
mourning Him who mourned for me,
all the days that I may live:

Let me, to my latest breath,
in my body bear the death
of that dying Son of thine.

Virgin of all virgins blest!,
Listen to my fond request:
let me share thy grief divine;

Wounded with His every wound,
steep my soul till it hath swooned,
in His very Blood away;

Be to me, O Virgin, nigh,
lest in flames I burn and die,
in His awful Judgment Day.

Christ, when Thou shalt call me hence,
by Thy Mother my defense,
by Thy Cross my victory;

When my body dies,
let my soul be granted
the glory of Paradise. Amen.

2 Responses to “The Seven Sorrows Of Mary”

  1. i would like to find the 7 sorrows of mary rosary and prayers if you know who could send me this pleasesend to nettie powell 164 bass st livingston tx 77351 email meat nettiel@mail.com thanks nettie

  2. Rachel said

    has anyone given you your above request yet nettie? If not, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

 
