Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

Thank You St. Joseph

Posted by james0235 on March 15, 2008

saintjoseph.jpgBecause this year March 19th falls in Holy Week the Solemnity of St. Joseph is moved to today, the 15th. I am sure that the Patron of the Universal Church and the Guardian of the Redeemer does not mind being bumped for the Lord.

Saint Joseph was never a particular favorite of mine. For many years I gave almost no thought at all to him. That began to change a few years back. At that time I was considering adoption for reasons that I won’t go into here. But, even though I was excited about it I was also a little bit uneasy. I began to think about the fact that I may never have a biological child.

And then I began to think about St. Joseph, the Foster Father of the Lord. I would find myself spending more and more time kneeling in front of an image of him and meditating on his role in the Holy Family. Over time I noticed my uneasiness slipping away and being replaced by a feeling of peace.

Circumstances changed. We never adopted a baby. And I very well may end up having a biological child some day. Or adopting. Or both for that matter. But, I know that no matter what happens it is through the intercession of St. Joseph that the uneasiness that I previously felt will not return and I will continue to seek his intercession that I might have a Holy Family of my own some day.

Father, you entrusted our Savior to the care of Saint Joseph. By the help of his prayers may Your Church continue to serve its Lord Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. (1970 Roman Missal)

2 Responses to “Thank You St. Joseph”

  1. […] Posted by james0235 on May 1, 2008 In those dioceses not celebrating the Feast of the Ascension today is the Memorial of St. Joseph the Worker. We already honor St. Joseph each year on the Solemnity of St. Joseph, March 19th (moved to March 15th this year). […]

  2. […] the more I am coming to appreciate him as a role model. Over the past few years I have slowly been growing in devotion to him. And this is something I foresee continuing well into the […]

Leave a Reply

 
