Ad Te Levávi Ánimam Meam

To Thee have I lifted up my soul (Introit – 1st Sunday of Advent)

Forgotten Fruits

Posted by james0235 on June 7, 2008

The fruits of the Spirit are perfections that the Holy Spirit forms in us as the first fruits of eternal glory. The tradition of the Church lists twelve of them: “charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity.” (CCC 1832)

A couple of weeks ago in confession I happened to mention something that had been on my mind quite a bit lately. It wasn’t specifically a sin. But it was something that I couldn’t seem to stop dwelling on. Father suggested that I specifically pray to the Holy Spirit about it and reminded me that Peace was one of the 12 Fruits of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23).

I began to pray about it. And what do you know? I did experience a feeling of peace. The more I prayed about it and took my uneasiness to God the Holy Spirit, the more peace I felt. Who would have thought that prayer actually works. 🙂

I am going to continue praying for Peace – about the original situation and a few other things that have been on my mind lately. But, now I am thinking about the other Fruits of the Holy Spirit as well. I am thinking that Patience might be next on my list. And I can’t wait to begin praying for it. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
